CAMS BAND PROGRAM

    Music Monday

 

 

Beginner Band Monday 2:50pm - 4:30pm. If Monday is a holiday, or school is cancelled due to inclement weather, Beginner Band Rehearsal will be on Tuesday from 3:30 - 5:00.

 

 

Junior Band:  Wednesday  2:50pm - 4:30pm

 

 

Guitar Club:  Guitar club takes place on Day 1 at 12:00pm. Students should feel free to bring their lunch as long as they clean up their mess. THANKS!

                                                                           

 

What is Music Monday?

Music Monday is a very special demonstration of our love of music - in our lives and in our schools. On the first Monday of May each year, students and teachers take their music programs outside into the open air of their school grounds or into their communities, to perform a short concert. There are outdoor concerts right across the country from the elementary level right through to secondary schools - some small celebrations, some large. Some will perform on their own; others will collaborate with local schools and organizations. Many community and professional organizations and ensembles are also involved, along with musicians and artists across the country.

Thank you for organizing this event - it has really helped to boost the music program and our school community.
- Memories of Music Monday 2006

The magic of the event is that at the same point during that day, that is, at 10 am Pacific time, 11 am Mountain time, 12 pm Central time, 1 pm Eastern time and 2 pm Atlantic time, and 2:30 in Newfoundland, schools right across the country are united by one piece of music. Simple and inspiring, this melody is provided to schools in a variety of arrangements suitable for primary choirs through to senior high school bands and ensembles. In short, it is a piece of music that transcends all genres and unites everyone through the melody and the act of performing it at the same time. The idea is that if one were to open the front door of his or her home and stand on the street on the first Monday in May, one would hear music and the skies would be filled with melody.